My Brother’s Walking Beam Engine

Never one to flail at life with alligator arms, when my little brother John (KC9LGM) decided he needed a walking beam engine he built one. This wasn’t a kit. He made wooden patterns for the parts, made sand molds from the patterns, and poured aluminum melted in his backyard foundry into the molds. He then finish machined the parts and assembled the engine. Way cool! 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Brother’s Walking Beam Engine

  1. Anonymous says:

    The creativity and ingenuity of you and your family never ceases to amaze me.

  2. Mike says:

    Hi Tom.Very nice work. Wow your brother went all out with the sand casting. I’ve always loved the little steam engines the guys attach to ice cream makers at the fair. The motor reminded me of them.I think you gave me some grief a while back about my loooong call sign. I finally took your advice. Check out my new letters just granted today -almost 50 percent less elements in the cw mode.73 Mike W8MDE

Leave a Reply

