There Are Strange Things Done in the Midnight Sun

A few weeks ago I went out in the shack right before leaving for work, about 5:30 in the morning. I tuned up on 30 and heard K6VVA/KL7 calling CQ. Having spent a bit of time up in Alaska myself, I get a bit of a thrill out of working KL7’s. We just had a quick exchange of signal reports, and I left for work thinking I’d worked some old fart in his motorhome on vacation which in itself  is actually pretty cool. When I got home I looked up the call and discovered that Rick Hilding, K6VVA not only had  activated the barrier island of Point Lay as an “Island on the Airwaves” (IOTA), but had also gone native and completely immersed himself in the local culture. Turns out Rick does this kind of thing on a regular basis.  

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to There Are Strange Things Done in the Midnight Sun

  1. Mike KD8JHJ says:

    Great story Tom! It sure is nice to see traditions like the whale hunt continue. So much of the native peoples culture is now gone only to be found in books and old black and white photos. Fun for all but I think the greatest benefit will be for the children of the village who unlike most of the older folks will get to grow up sharing in the life ways of their ancestors. As it should be.I’ve only worked Alaska twice and both times was KL8DX up in Denali while using my Gap verticals. I’ve tried using horizontal wires but not made the connection. Nice catch with K6VVA/KL7.73Mike KD8JHJ

  2. Phil says:

    Rather difficult to "immerse yourself in the local culture" when the village is a "dry" village 🙂 See http://www.k6vva.com/iota/na242/pixstats.html

Leave a Reply

