My Beautiful Boy

656

  Bored with his video games, Tommy decided we should do a project out in the shop. Here Tommy is bending some 3/8″ round stock that was donated by Phil, K9FH ….
657
on our compact bender.

659

   Now Tommy is heating the steel to bend over some legs.

663

  A handle inert gas welded to the “U”…
666
slathered in black wrinkle paint…
672
is housed in grips milled from some fancy purpleheart wood, courtesy of, Grant, KC9SJQ.
673
The frame was bedded to the grip panels in epoxy. Before I could snap another shot, some sanding, installation of surgical tubing rubber bands, and a leather pouch were added . Tommy slipped into the forest with his new slingshot.

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My Beautiful Boy

  1. Anonymous says:

    I’m so glad you found a good use for the block I gave you. I can’t think of a better purpose.You know, that block was given to me as a 5th anniversary gift. The traditional give is wood. I "traded" it for the plank we used to make that computer case. It’s still as beautiful as any other.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Hey Grant, We just used that leftover strip of the plank. The block is still being saved for a special lathe project, maybe a bowl.

  3. Anonymous says:

    Actually, I wouldn’t mind a new project. Could I ask you to play mentor again at some time? I would like to learn to use a lathe and make a gear shift knob for the car. I’ll have to go to Woodcraft to find another block.

  4. Anonymous says:

    How about turning a purpleheart knob for a telegraph key?

  5. Real Millright says:

    looks like a bunch of Millright wanna b’s to me

Leave a Reply

